Hebrew University Scholars Receive Rothschild Prizes in Jerusalem
Menu JTA Search

Hebrew University Scholars Receive Rothschild Prizes in Jerusalem

Download PDF for this date

Four Hebrew University scholars were presented today with the Rothschild prizes established by the Edmond James de Rothschild Memorial Group.

The prizes, which have a cash value of 5,000 Israel pounds ($1,666) were presented to Professor Ernest David Bergmann, chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission and Hebrew University Professor of Organic Chemistry; Professor Yaacov Polotsky, Hebrew University Professor of Egyptian and Semitic Linguistics; Dr. Yoel Racah, University rector; and Professor Gershon Sholem, an expert on Judaica.

The presentations were made by Lord Nathaniel Mayer Rothschild, Professor of Biology at Cambridge University, who came to Israel to present the awards.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund